# MINUTES OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING, FOLK FEDERATION OF NSW INC SUNDAY 25<sup>TH</sup> OCTOBER 2020

# Meeting held via Zoom

### 1. Attendance, Apologies

**Present –** Dallas Baxter, Alex Bishop, Julie Bishop, Jane Brownlee, Andy Busuttil, Bruce Cameron (withdrew at 1.00pm), Terry Clinton, Pam Davis (Secretary), Kate Maclurcan, Pam Merrigan (President), Russell Neal, Wayne Richmond (joined at 12.15pm), Craig Sinclair, Margaret Walters.

Apologies – Jim Baxter, Penny Plumbe, Coral Vorbach

**2. Minutes** of the AGM held 27<sup>th</sup> October 2019 – approved (moved Pam Davis, seconded Kate Maclurcan)

### 3. Reports

- a) President's Report copy appended to the Minutes. The President's report was accepted by general acclamation.
- b) Treasurer's Report Financial Report for the year ended 30 April 2020 was circulated prior to the meeting. Moved Dallas Baxter, seconded Jane Brownlee & approved by majority vote.
- c) Membership Report copy circulated prior to the meeting & appended to the Minutes. It was suggested that the significant increase in membership in the current year (from 189 to 234) was most likely due to interest engendered by the 2020 Folk Festival.

The outgoing Committee proposed that Life Membership be awarded to Bruce Cameron for his long service as Committee Member and Treasurer, and to Coral Vorbach for her commitment to the Folk Federation as editor of Cornstalk. The appointment of both nominees as Life Members was approved unanimously.

#### 4. Elections

a) Election of Committee - the following were elected unopposed

President – Pam Merrigan

Treasurer – Dallas Baxter

<u>Vice-President</u> – Margaret Walters

Secretary - Pam Davis

# **Committee Members**

- Alex Bishop
- Jane Brownlee
- Andy Busuttil
- Terry Clinton
- Russell Neal
- Craig Sinclair
- Christine Wheeler

It was agreed to actively seek Committee involvement from newer/younger members. In this regard, Jane Brownlee advised that Fiona McVicar had expressed interest in becoming involved. Experienced Committee members indicated their willingness to mentor new members & encourage them to consider assuming Executive roles in future.

- b) Appointment of bank signatories Agreed that the incoming Office Bearers (Pam Merrigan President, Margaret Walters Vice-President, Pam Davis Secretary, Dallas Baxter Treasurer) continue as bank signatories.
- c) Appointment of auditor Agreed that David J Weekes & Co be appointed auditors for 2020/21, pending review of competitive quotes from other auditors by the incoming Committee. On the basis of that review, should the Committee recommend that new auditors be appointed to replace David J Weekes & Co, the matter would be put to a general meeting of members for approval.
- 5. Close of Meeting 12.30pm.